Shortlist, 2017 PEN Southwest Book Awards

PEN Texas is pleased to announce the shortlisted titles for the 2017 Southwest Book Awards. The winners in each category will receive a $500 prize. PEN Texas will issue a formal announcement re: winning titles in early summer 2018.

Creative Nonfiction
Judge: Robin Underdahl

Leah Lax
She Writes Press
Edward McPherson
The History of the Future: American Essays
Coffee House Press

Judge: Latoya Watkins

Owen Egerton
Soft Skull Press
José Skinner
The Tombstone Race
University of New Mexico Press
David Eric Tomlinson
The Midnight Man
Simon & Schuster

Judge: Allison Hedge Coke

Chera Hammons
The Traveler’s Guide to Bomb City
purple flag press
Karla K. Morton
Wooden Lions
Texas Review Press



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: