Winners of the 2005 PEN Southwest Book Awards  

PEN Texas and PEN New Mexico collaborated to present the inaugural PEN Southwest Book Awards to honor excellence in writing by PEN members on Saturday, October 22, 2005, in a public ceremony held at La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. A keynote address by Donald Lamm, whose forty-four-year career at W. W. Norton & Company encompassed the roles of editor, president and former chairman of the independent publisher, and a talk on “Writers in the New Global Community” by PEN Center USA President Kate Gale were also a draw for the standing room only event.

The winners of the Southwest Book Awards were announced and presented with $500 prizes in each of three categories at the festive awards ceremony.

Rod Davis, Corina’s Way, NewSouth Books
Lise Goett, Waiting for the Paraclete, Beacon Press
Malka Drucker, White Fire: A Portrait of Women Spiritual Leaders in America, Skylight Paths Publishing

Rudolfo Anaya, Serafina’s Stories, University of New Mexico Press
Lisa Lenard-Cook, Dissonance, University of New Mexico Press
Kay Barnes, Mortal Means, Cherry Grove Collections
Frederick Turner, Paradise, David Roberts Books
Carroll Pickett, Within These Walls: Memoirs of a Death House Chaplain, St. Martin’s Press
Diane Thiel, The White Horse: A Colombian Journey, Etruscan Press


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: