Winners of Writers Over Sixty 2007 2005 PEN Awards Photo Gallery



PEN Texas

PEN is a worldwide organization of professional writers founded in 1921 to develop a literary community not bounded by politics or government and to defend freedom of expression wherever it is threatened. PEN Texas is a chapter of PEN Center U.S.A.

PEN is an acronym for Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists. PEN International was established in London in 1921 as a literary community unbounded by politics or government. The group works to advance literature, defend free expression, foster international fellowship and to dispel national, ethnic and racial hatreds. Among the organization’s founders were such literary luminaries as George Bernard Shaw, D. H. Lawrence, Clara Dawson Scott, Joseph Conrad and John Galsworthy.

PEN Texas was founded in 1991 by Patton Howell, who served as the state organization’s first and only president until his death last spring. Dr. Tim Redman, who along with about a dozen other writers and editors also helped establish the chapter, has served on the PEN Texas board of directors since the organization’s inception. Membership is open by application to the national center to those who have demonstrated work of substantial literary value.

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact:

Tim Redman, PEN Texas President
[email protected]   

Pam Lange, PEN Texas Treasurer
[email protected]   

Winners of the Writing Contest for
Writers Over Sixty Years of Age!

Click here to see a roster of the winners of these PEN Texas writing awards.

Photos from the November 2006 Luncheon at Celebration, click here.